Review: Boondocks By Casey Peeler

boondocks-half

 

 

 

 

“One twist of the lid changed everything…”

Boondocks by Casey Peeler is NOW AVAILABLE.

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2eaJIUw

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2eoJ9It

iBooks: http://apple.co/2bhHeTF

Nook: http://bit.ly/2bfPsLt

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2dDjVo5

Blurb

One twist of the lid changed everything…

The devil sat on my shoulder from my first breath, he watched my every move, and with the first strike of lightnin’ I was pulled under.

Walking into Boondocks the voice of an angel called to me and I vowed to live a better life.  She kept me on the righteous path until Satan called one last time.

It was time to take him down or lose my angel forever.

Alysha’s Thoughts:

Casey Peeler definitely tugged at my heart strings with her book, Boondocks. Young love, town secrets, and illegal activates, are only some of the few things in this book. Many emotions running through this book, so much so I caught myself yelling at the characters while reading. Like they could really hear me, LOL. Then again I may have fallen in love with this book because I’m a sucker for true love!

Walker has always been on the move with his parents, never settling down in one place for very long. Normally because of his father’s illegal activities. All Walker wants to do is make it to eighteen and live his own life without getting caught up in his parent’s lifestyle. Unfortunately being underage he is forced to help his father with these activities. That is exactly why they moved to the small town of Barber, his father, Troy’s new line of business.  Walker was to act like a normal teenage boy, go to school, work at the shop, and be on call for any movements Troy and his business partner needed him to make. Only once Walker laid eyes on Chauna and heard her beautiful voice he knew he was in trouble. Chauna couldn’t get over the new boy in town, his sexy exterior and his manly motorcycle. Once they started to get to know each other that was the end of that, they fell completely in love. Walker knew he needed to honest with Chauna and the things he was a part of, the secrets that revolved around her whole world. He just couldn’t bring himself to do it, and one night he wished he had. That night their lives changed for ever, taking everything they had away from them, lives were lost. Walker didn’t think he would ever be able to get that one thing that mattered the most back, Chauna.

Erica’s Thoughts: They say that you are what your parents make you. I speak from personal experience when I say that is not true at all. You can change it if you want to. I know I did my best to become better, and I know that I want my daughter to be better than I am. Chauna hasn’t ever really wanted much out of her life but to own her favorite bar in her hometown. She believes that is all there is for her. Walker has been dealt a crap hand in life but knows he wants to be better, when his parents up root him again he starts to give up. But when he meets Chauna everything changes. They are young and in love and most of the time this doesn’t work. Casey takes you to amazing places in this book with this young love.  

 

 

Excerpt

Walker

Watching her place her perfect lips on the side of Logan’s face made me cringe. I know I have no right to feel this way, but those two have something that I can’t quite understand, and I’m jealous. The question is, what do I do about it?  As she walks toward me with a huge smile on her face, all my craziness evaporates into the evening sky.

“You ready?” she asks.

“As I’ll ever be,” I reply.

After swinging my leg over my bike, I pass Chauna a helmet, and we put them on together. As she swings her leg over, I hold still and wait for the moment she wraps her arms around me. I take a deep breath as she eases into me and rev the engine to life; all eyes are on us.

“Hold on tight,” I say, and she pulls herself even closer. We take the driveway slow, but when we hit the main road, I pull the throttle and we pick up speed as we make our way toward Sammy’s. As we approach the drive-in, I realize that Chauna is completely right; this place is nothing like it was earlier today. The Sammy’s Drive-In light is lit up like Christmas, and it reminds me of Flo’s Café in the movie Cars. There’s so much neon, and instead of cars, there are monster trucks everywhere. Pulling the bike in, we park, and I look to Chauna for direction as country music plays in the background.

“Welcome to Barber. Where the trucks are hot, but the girls are hotter,” she says with pure sexiness. In this moment, I know that this is just the beginning of an epic, new chapter in my life.

About the Author:

Casey Peeler grew up in North Carolina and still lives there with her husband and daughter.

Growing up Casey wasn’t an avid reader or writer, but after reading Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neal Hurston during her senior year of high school, and multiple Nicholas Sparks’ novels, she found a hidden love and appreciation for reading.  That love ignited the passion for writing several years later, and her writing style combines real life scenarios with morals and values teenagers need in their daily lives.

When Casey isn’t writing, you can find her near a body of water listening to country music with a cold beverage and a great book.

Connect with Casey

Website: www.authorcaseypeeler.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/caseypeelerauthor

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AuthorCasey

Instagram: @AuthorCasey

Snapchat: @authorcpeeler

GIVEAWAY

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/09964f03920/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”09964f03920″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_ao3uc01u”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

http://a%20href=

Share link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MDk5NjRmMDM5ZDM4YTBjYWM0YzAyYzM0NGI2ODRhOjkyMA==/?

Leave a Reply

