A Simple Favor By by Darcey Bell

Blurb: She’s your best friend.
She knows all your secrets.
That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother’s life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

 

Erica’s thoughts: This wasn’t the best of the worst book that I have read. It had some really good moments. The premise of the book to me seemed to be that you can never really trust anyone or know anyone fully. Emily and Stephanie are friends but it is a more one sided friendship than Stephanie seems to see. One day when Emily doesn’t returned to pick up her son Stephanie panics. She is made to believe by everyone that Emily is on a trip and should be returning soon. Only she doesn’t, the book goes on to some chilling parts and people hiding in bushes. Dracey takes you to a place where at some points you start to question even your own relationships.  It seemed no one not even Emily’s husband truly knew her, she always had a flare for the wild side and didn’t matter who stood in her way to include her own family.

Find it here:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29938376-a-simple-favor?from_search=true

 

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-simple-favor-darcey-bell/1123674389?ean=9780062497772

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s